Mapping Early American Elections

17th Congress: Maryland 1820

Maryland elected four Federalists and five Democratic-Republicans to the Seventeenth Congress. In the 8th district, Thomas Bayly, although listed as a Federalist, received support from both parties.

Maryland used a district system for electing members to Congress. Each district elected one member of Congress except District 5, which elected two members.

In 1823, a special election was held in which Isaac MacKim was elected to the Seventeenth Congress to replace Samuel Smith, who had been elected to the U.S. Senate.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 Ralph Neale Federalist 1,405 54%
1 Nicholas Stonestreet Federalist 1,197 46%
2 Joseph Kent Democratic-Republican 1,767 96.9%
3 Henry R. Warfield Federalist 3,098 99.3%
4 John Nelson Democratic-Republican 3,501 57.9%
4 Thomas C. Worthington Federalist 2,534 41.9%
5 Peter Little Democratic-Republican 7,441 50%
5 Samuel Smith Democratic-Republican 7,440 50%
6 Jeremiah Cosden Democratic-Republican 2,340 49.9%
6 Philip Reed Federalist 2,340 49.9%
7 Robert Wright Democratic-Republican 1,604 50.5%
7 Thomas Culbreth Federalist 1,572 49.5%
8 Thomas Bayly Federalist 4,939 99.5%

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo