Mapping Early American Elections

16th Congress: Maryland 1818

Maryland elected three Federalists and six Democratic-Republicans to the Sixteenth Congress. In the 8th district, Thomas Bayly, although listed as a Federalist, received support from both parties.

Maryland used a district system for electing members to Congress. Each district elected one member of Congress except District 5, which elected two members.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 Ralph Neale Federalist 1,175 39.8%
1 Nicholas Stonestreet Federalist 1,140 38.6%
1 Henry G.S. Key Federalist 635 21.5%
2 Joseph Kent Democratic-Republican 1,485 56.7%
2 John C. Weems Federalist 1,136 43.3%
3 Henry R. Warfield Federalist 2,250 59.1%
3 George Peter Federalist 1,554 40.9%
4 Samuel Ringgold Democratic-Republican 3,830 97.7%
5 Samuel Smith Democratic-Republican 7,290 50.3%
5 Peter Little Democratic-Republican 7,214 49.7%
6 Stevenson Archer Democratic-Republican 2,566 56.1%
6 Philip Reed Federalist 2,010 43.9%
7 Thomas Culbreth Democratic-Republican 2,057 70%
7 Robert Wright Democratic-Republican 881 30%
8 Thomas Bayly Federalist 4,580 98.2%

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo