Mapping Early American Elections

15th Congress: Maryland 1816

Maryland elected five Federalists and four Democratic-Republicans to the Fifteenth Congress. In the 8th district, moderate Federalist Thomas Bayly also received considerable backing from the Democratic-Republicans.

Maryland used a district system for electing members to Congress. Each district elected one member of Congress except District 5, which elected two members.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 Philip Stewart Federalist 1,092 99.1%
2 John C. Herbert Federalist 1,602 50.6%
2 Joshua Barney Democratic-Republican 1,556 49.2%
3 George Peter Federalist 1,888 46%
3 Charles Kilgour Federalist 1,249 30.4%
3 Nicholas Snethen Democratic-Republican 969 23.6%
4 Samuel Ringgold Democratic-Republican 3,460 53.6%
4 Matthew Van Lear Federalist 2,985 46.3%
5 Samuel Smith Democratic-Republican 5,326 42.1%
5 Peter Little Democratic-Republican 3,974 31.4%
5 Tobias Stansbury Democratic-Republican 3,337 26.4%
6 Philip Reed Federalist 2,282 51.5%
6 Stevenson Archer Democratic-Republican 2,149 48.5%
7 Thomas Culbreth Democratic-Republican 1,879 50.8%
7 William Potter Federalist 1,818 49.2%
8 Thomas Bayly Federalist 2,539 51.7%
8 Ephraim K. Wilson Federalist 2,289 46.6%

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo