Mapping Early American Elections

14th Congress: Maryland 1814

Maryland elected five Federalists and four Democratic-Republicans to the Fourteenth Congress.

Maryland used a district system for electing members to Congress. Each district elected one member of Congress except District 5, which elected two members.

In 1816, a special election was held in which George Peter was elected to replace Alexander C. Hanson, who resigned from office.

In 1816, a special election was held in which Samuel Smith was elected to replace Nicholas R. Moore, who had resigned from office.

In 1816, a special election was held in which Peter Little was elected to replace William Pinkney, who had resigned from office.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 Philip Stewart Federalist 1,486 99.8%
2 John C. Herbert Federalist 1,947 57.3%
2 Joseph Kent Democratic-Republican 1,446 42.6%
3 Alexander C. Hanson Federalist 2,445 99.4%
4 George Baer Federalist 2,988 51.4%
4 Samuel Ringgold Democratic-Republican 2,821 48.5%
5 Nicholas R. Moore Democratic-Republican 4,526 38.3%
5 William Pinkney Democratic-Republican 4,494 38%
5 John E. Howard Federalist 2,714 22.9%
6 Stevenson Archer Democratic-Republican 2,444 51.8%
6 Abraham Jarrett Federalist 2,270 48.1%
7 Robert Wright Democratic-Republican 2,085 52.5%
7 Samuel W. Thomas Federalist 1,885 47.5%
8 Charles Goldsborough Federalist 3,016 96.2%

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo