Mapping Early American Elections

18th Congress: Maryland 1822

Maryland elected three Federalists and six Democratic-Republicans to the Eighteenth Congress.

Maryland used a district system for electing members to Congress. Each district elected one member of Congress except District 5, which elected two members.

In 1823, a special election was held in which Isaac MacKim was elected to replace Samuel Smith, who had been elected to the U.S. Senate.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 Raphael Neale Federalist 1,344 64.7%
1 Thomas Blackiston Federalist 724 34.9%
2 Joseph Kent Democratic-Republican 1,688 99.5%
3 Henry R. Warfield Federalist 2,707 97.1%
4 John Lee Federalist 1,841 30.9%
4 Thomas C. Worthington Democratic-Republican 1,789 30.1%
4 Michael Sprigg Democratic-Republican 1,476 24.8%
4 Casper Weaver Democratic-Republican 390 6.6%
4 William Gabby Democratic-Republican 360 6.1%
5 Peter Little Democratic-Republican 6,866 44.1%
5 Samuel Smith Democratic-Republican 6,725 43.2%
5 John Patterson Democratic-Republican 1,973 12.7%
6 George E. Mitchell Democratic-Republican 3,133 94.3%
6 Other candidates 189 5.6%
7 William Hayward, Jr. Democratic-Republican 1,720 54.6%
7 Thomas Emory Democratic-Republican 1,431 45.4%
8 John S. Spence Democratic-Republican 2,558 66.5%
8 James Murray Federalist 1,288 33.5%

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo