Mapping Early American Elections

15th Congress: South Carolina 1816

South Carolina elected nine Democratic-Republicans to the Fifteenth Congress.

The map for this election is incomplete due to the lack of returns in some areas.

South Carolina used a district system for electing members to Congress.

In 1818, a special election was held in which Eldred Simkins was elected to replace John C. Calhoun, who had resigned after being appointed Secretary of War.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 Henry Middleton Democratic-Republican 1,234 56.4%
1 William Crafts, Jr. Federalist 954 43.6%
2 William Lowndes Democratic-Republican
3 James Ervin Democratic-Republican 1,804 54.8%
3 Benjamin Huger Federalist 1,485 45.2%
4 Joseph Bellinger Democratic-Republican 1,369 47.2%
4 John J. Chappell Democratic-Republican 915 31.6%
4 John C. Allen Democratic-Republican 615 21.2%
5 Starling Tucker Democratic-Republican
6 John C. Calhoun Democratic-Republican 1,977 43.2%
6 Edmund Bacon Federalist 1,440 31.5%
6 William Butler Democratic-Republican 1,157 25.3%
7 Elias Earle Democratic-Republican 2,053 50.7%
7 Andrew Pickens Democratic-Republican 1,082 26.7%
7 John Taylor Democratic-Republican 913 22.6%
8 Wilson Nesbitt Democratic-Republican 2,407 41.4%
8 James MacKibben Democratic-Republican 1,877 32.3%
8 William Smith Democratic-Republican 1,181 20.3%
8 William Rice Democratic-Republican 343 5.9%
9 Stephen D. Miller Democratic-Republican 2,326 73.6%
9 William Mayrant Democratic-Republican 836 26.4%

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo