Mapping Early American Elections

14th Congress: South Carolina 1814

South Carolina elected one Federalist and eight Democratic-Republicans to the Fourteenth Congress.

The map for this election is incomplete due to the lack of returns in many areas.

South Carolina used a district system for electing members to Congress.

In 1816, a special election was held in which Stephen D. Miller was elected to replace William Mayrant, who had resigned his office.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 Henry Middleton Democratic-Republican 1,448 62.7%
1 Thomas Rhett Smith Federalist 859 37.2%
2 William Lowndes Democratic-Republican unopposed
3 Benjamin Huger Federalist 1,712 51.6%
3 Theodore Gourdin Democratic-Republican 1,605 48.4%
4 John J. Chappell Democratic-Republican unopposed
5 William Woodward, Sr. Democratic-Republican unopposed
6 John C. Calhoun Democratic-Republican
7 John Taylor Democratic-Republican 2,970 75.4%
7 Elias Earle Democratic-Republican 949 24.1%
8 Thomas Moore Democratic-Republican
9 William Mayrant, Sr. Democratic-Republican

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo