Mapping Early American Elections

13th Congress: South Carolina 1812

South Carolina elected one Federalist and eight Democratic-Republicans to the Thirteenth Congress.

The map for this election is incomplete due to the lack of returns in many areas.

Following the 1810 Census, South Carolina gained one more seat in the House of Representatives.

South Carolina used a district system for electing members to Congress.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 Langdon Cheves Democratic-Republican 1,581 65.3%
1 John Rutledge Federalist 839 34.7%
2 William Lowndes Democratic-Republican
3 Theodore Gourdine Democratic-Republican
4 John J. Chappell Democratic-Republican 1,579 63.1%
4 Edmund Bacon Democratic-Republican 739 29.5%
4 John Bynum Democratic-Republican 185 7.4%
5 David R. Evans Democratic-Republican unopposed
6 John C. Calhoun Democratic-Republican unopposed
7 Elias Earle Democratic-Republican
8 Samuel Farrow Democratic-Republican
9 John Kershaw Federalist

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo