Mapping Early American Elections

16th Congress: South Carolina 1818

South Carolina elected nine Democratic-Republicans to the Sixteenth Congress.

The map for this election is incomplete due to the lack of returns in many areas.

South Carolina used a district system for electing members to Congress.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 Charles Pinckney Democratic-Republican 1,164 49%
1 Daniel Elliott Huger Federalist 810 34.1%
1 William Crafts, Jr. Federalist 402 16.9%
2 William Lowndes Democratic-Republican unopposed
3 James Ervin Democratic-Republican unopposed
4 James Overstreet Democratic-Republican 1,249 41%
4 John J. Chappell Democratic-Republican 1,073 35.2%
4 John M. Felder Federalist 725 23.8%
5 Starling Tucker Democratic-Republican 2,530 50.8%
5 William Brown Democratic-Republican 1,421 28.5%
5 Philip E. Pearson Democratic-Republican 1,034 20.7%
6 Eldred Simkins Democratic-Republican 2,309 54.2%
6 Joseph Black Democratic-Republican 1,105 25.9%
6 William Butler Democratic-Republican 848 19.9%
7 Elias Earle Democratic-Republican 2,166 53.7%
7 John H. Harrison Democratic-Republican 1,866 46.3%
8 James MacCreary Democratic-Republican unopposed
9 Joseph Brevard Democratic-Republican

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo