Mapping Early American Elections

19th Congress: Georgia 1824

Georgia elected seven Democratic-Republicans to the Nineteenth Congress. All seven of those Democratic-Republicans were part of a faction led by William Crawford.

The map for this election is incomplete due to the lack of returns in two counties.

Georgia used a statewide at-large system for electing members to Congress.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
At-large Wiley Thompson Republican Faction 11,543 16.6%
At-large John Forsyth Republican Faction 10,219 14.7%
At-large E. F. Tattnall Republican Faction 10,049 14.4%
At-large Alfred Cuthbert Republican Faction 9,950 14.3%
At-large George Cary Republican Faction 9,672 13.9%
At-large James Meriwether Republican Faction 9,371 13.4%
At-large Charles Haynes Republican Faction 8,882 12.7%

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo