Mapping Early American Elections

18th Congress: Georgia 1822

Georgia elected seven Democratic-Republicans to the Eighteenth Congress. Five of those Democratic-Republicans were part of a faction led by William Crawford.

Following the 1820 Census, Georgia gained 1 seat in the House of Representatives.

Georgia used a statewide at-large system for electing members to Congress.

In 1824, a special election was held in which Richard H. Wilde was elected to replace Thomas W. Cobb, who had resigned from office after being elected as a Senator.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
At-large John Forsyth Democratic-Republican 18,350 13.5%
At-large Edward F. Tattnall Republican Faction 17,596 13%
At-large Joel Abbott Republican Faction 15,606 11.5%
At-large Wiley Thompson Republican Faction 15,178 11.2%
At-large Thomas W. Cobb Republican Faction 15,016 11.1%
At-large George Carey Republican Faction 13,462 9.9%
At-large Alfred Cuthbert Democratic-Republican 13,198 9.7%
At-large Thomas Glascock 12,959 9.6%
At-large Charles E. Haynes Republican Faction 7,987 5.9%

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo