Mapping Early American Elections

18th Congress: Tennessee 1823

Tennessee elected nine Democratic-Republicans to the Eighteenth Congress. All nine of those Democratic-Republicans were part of a faction led by Andrew Jackson.

The map for this election is incomplete due to the lack of returns in a few areas.

Following the 1820 Census, Tennessee gained three seats in the House of Representatives.

Tennessee used a district system for electing members to Congress.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 John Blair Jacksonian 3,350 52.5%
1 John Tipton 3,035 47.5%
2 John Cocke Jacksonian 6,471 unopposed
3 James Standifer Jacksonian 2,956 42.5%
3 James C. Mitchell Jacksonian 2,602 37.4%
3 William Dunlap 1,398 20.1%
4 Jacob Isaacs Jacksonian 4,648 65.2%
4 James Rogers 2,486 34.8%
5 Robert Allen Jacksonian 4,828 99.8%
6 James T. Sandford Jacksonian 3,968 44%
6 Andrew Erwin 2,793 31%
6 Alfred M. Harris 2,263 25.1%
7 Samuel Houston Jacksonian 5,889 100%
8 James B. Reynolds Jacksonian 2,385 46.4%
8 Sterling Brewer 1,415 27.5%
8 John H. Marable Jacksonian 1,341 26.1%
9 Adam R. Alexander Jacksonian 1,923 43.7%
9 James Terrill 1,355 30.8%
9 William R. Hess 1,121 25.5%

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo