Mapping Early American Elections

17th Congress: Tennessee 1821

Tennessee elected six Democratic-Republicans to the Seventeenth Congress.

The map for this election is incomplete due to the lack of returns at the town or county level.

Tennessee used a district system for electing members to Congress.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 John Rhea Democratic-Republican 2,456 40.4%
1 John Tipton 2,164 35.6%
1 John A. Rogers 1,465 24.1%
2 John Cocke Democratic-Republican unopposed
3 Francis Jones Democratic-Republican
4 Robert Allen Democratic-Republican 6,131 100%
5 Newton Cannon Democratic-Republican
6 Henry H. Bryan Democratic-Republican

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo