Mapping Early American Elections

17th Congress: Kentucky 1820

Kentucky elected ten Democratic-Republicans to the Seventeenth Congress.

The map for this election is incomplete due to the lack of returns at the town or county level.

Kentucky used a district system for electing members to Congress.

In 1821, a special election was held in which John Speed Smith was elected to replace George C. Robertson, who had resigned before Congress convened.

In 1821, a special election was held in which James D. Breckenridge was elected to replace Wingfield Bullock, who had died before Congress convened.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 David Trimble Democratic-Republican
2 Samuel H. Woodson Democratic-Republican 2,651 59.4%
2 John Pope Federalist 1,686 37.8%
3 John T. Johnson Democratic-Republican
4 Thomas Metcalf Democratic-Republican unopposed
5 Anthony New Democratic-Republican
6 Francis Johnson Democratic-Republican
7 George C. Robertson Democratic-Republican unopposed
8 Wingfield Bullock Democratic-Republican
9 Thomas Montgomery Democratic-Republican unopposed
10 Benjamin Hardin Democratic-Republican

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo