Mapping Early American Elections

16th Congress: Kentucky 1818

Kentucky elected ten Democratic-Republicans to the Sixteenth Congress.

The map for this election is incomplete due to the lack of returns in some counties.

Kentucky used a district system for electing members to Congress.

In 1820, a special election was held in which Francis Johnson was elected to replace David Walker, who had died.

In 1820, a special election was held in which Thomas Montgomery was elected to replace Tunstall Quarles, who had resigned from office.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 David Tremble Democratic-Republican 3,319 58.2%
1 Thomas Fletcher Democratic-Republican 2,382 41.8%
2 Henry Clay Democratic-Republican unopposed
3 William Brown Democratic-Republican 3,827 59%
3 Benjamin Taylor Federalist 2,663 41%
4 Thomas Metcalf Democratic-Republican
5 Alney MacLean Democratic-Republican 3,404 54.3%
5 Matthew Lyon Democratic-Republican 2,866 45.7%
6 David Walker Democratic-Republican
7 George C. Robinson Democratic-Republican unopposed
8 Richard C. Anderson, Jr. Democratic-Republican unopposed
9 Tunstall Quarles Democratic-Republican unopposed
10 Benjamin Hardin Democratic-Republican 1,716 31.2%
10 Richard Rudd 1,703 30.9%
10 John Rowan 1,434 26%
10 John Hays 655 11.9%

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo