Mapping Early American Elections

16th Congress: North Carolina 1819

North Carolina elected four Federalists and nine Democratic-Republicans to the Sixteenth Congress.

The map for this election is incomplete due to the lack of returns in many counties.

North Carolina used a district system for electing members to Congress.

In 1821, a special election was held in which William S. Blackledge was elected to replace Jesse Slocumb, who had died.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 Lemuel Sawyer Democratic-Republican
2 Hutchins G. Burton Democratic-Republican
3 Thomas H. Hall Democratic-Republican 2,565 78.2%
3 John Holland Federalist 717 21.8%
4 Jesse Slocumb Federalist
5 Charles Hooks Democratic-Republican 2,745 59%
5 Samuel Stanford Federalist 1,906 41%
6 Welden N. Edwards Democratic-Republican
7 John Culpepper Federalist 2,758 52%
7 James Stewart Democratic-Republican 2,549 48%
8 James S. Smith Democratic-Republican 2,554 54.6%
8 Samuel Dickens Federalist 2,126 45.4%
9 Thomas Settle Democratic-Republican 3,461 100%
10 Charles Fisher Democratic-Republican 2,991 65.1%
10 Wiley Jones Federalist 1,605 34.9%
11 William Davidson Federalist 1,708 45.1%
11 John F. Brevard Democratic-Republican 1,403 37%
11 Henry W. Conner Democratic-Republican 678 17.9%
12 Felix Walker Democratic-Republican
13 Lewis Williams Federalist

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo