Mapping Early American Elections

14th Congress: Tennessee 1815

Tennessee elected six Democratic-Republicans to the Fourteenth Congress.

The map for this election is incomplete due to the lack of returns at the county level.

Tennessee used a district system for electing members to Congress.

In 1815, a special election was held in which William G. Blount was elected to replace John Sevier, who had died.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 Samuel Powell Democratic-Republican 2,702 58.9%
1 John Rhea Democratic-Republican 1,882 41.1%
2 John Sevier Democratic-Republican unopposed
3 Isaac Thomas Democratic-Republican 3,941 54.4%
3 Thomas K. Harris Democratic-Republican 3,309 45.6%
4 Bennett H. Henderson Democratic-Republican
5 Newton Cannon Democratic-Republican 4,884 unopposed
6 James B. Reynolds Democratic-Republican 2,402 33.7%
6 Peter R. Booker 2,258 31.6%
6 George W. L. Marr 2,058 28.8%
6 James Holland 417 5.8%

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo