Mapping Early American Elections

13th Congress: Tennessee 1813

Tennessee elected six Democratic-Republicans to the Thirteenth Congress.

The map for this election is incomplete due to the lack of returns at the town or county level.

Following the 1810 Census, Tennessee gained three more seats in the House of Representatives.

Tennessee used a district system for electing members to Congress.

In 1814, a special election was held in which Newton Cannon was elected to replace Felix Grundy, who had resigned.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 John Rhea Democratic-Republican unopposed
2 John Sevier Democratic-Republican unopposed
3 Thomas K. Harris Democratic-Republican 1,068 31.3%
3 William Kelly 1,067 31.3%
3 James Rogers 866 25.4%
3 Bird Smith 407 11.9%
4 John H. Bowen Democratic-Republican unopposed
5 Felix Grundy Democratic-Republican 3,277 81.2%
5 Newton Cannon Democratic-Republican 757 18.8%
6 Parry W. Humphreys Democratic-Republican

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo