Mapping Early American Elections

13th Congress: Kentucky 1812

Kentucky elected ten Democratic-Republicans to the Thirteenth Congress.

The map for this election is incomplete due to the lack of returns at the town or county level.

Following the 1810 Census, Kentucky gained four seats in the House of Representatives.

Kentucky used a district system for electing members to Congress.

In 1813, a special election was held in which Stephen Ormsby was elected to replace John Simpson, a member-elect who had died.

In 1814, a special election was held in which Joseph H. Hawkins was elected to replace Henry Clay, who resigned from office after being appointed minister to Great Britain.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 James Clark Democratic-Republican 4,560 unopposed
2 Henry Clay Democratic-Republican 3,164 unopposed
3 Richard M. Johnson Democratic-Republican 4,048 unopposed
4 Joseph Desha Democratic-Republican 3,830 unopposed
5 Samuel G. Hopkins Democratic-Republican 2,341 49.2%
5 Rezin Davidge 1,497 31.4%
5 Matthew Lyon Democratic-Republican 924 19.4%
6 Solomon P. Sharpe Democratic-Republican 3,197 69.9%
6 Anthony Butler 1,374 30.1%
7 Samuel MacKee Democratic-Republican 3,406 unopposed
8 John Simpson Democratic-Republican
9 Thomas Montgomery Democratic-Republican
10 William P. Duval Democratic-Republican unopposed

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo