Mapping Early American Elections

12th Congress: Kentucky 1810

Kentucky elected six Democratic-Republicans to the Twelfth Congress.

The map for this election is incomplete due to the lack of returns at the town or county level.

Kentucky used a district system for electing members to Congress.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 Anthony New Democratic-Republican 5,990 60.3%
1 Matthew Lyon Democratic-Republican 3,938 39.7%
2 Samuel MacKee Democratic-Republican unopposed
3 Stephen Ormsby Democratic-Republican
4 Richard M. Johnson Democratic-Republican
5 Henry Clay Democratic-Republican unopposed
6 Joseph Desha Democratic-Republican unopposed

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo