Mapping Early American Elections

11th Congress: South Carolina 1808

South Carolina elected eight Democratic-Republicans to the Eleventh Congress.

The map for this election is incomplete due to the lack of returns in many areas.

South Carolina used the district system for electing members to Congress.

In 1811, a special election was held in which Langdon Cheves was elected to replace Robert Marion, who had resigned from office.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 Robert Marion Democratic-Republican 1,069 68.2%
1 Thomas Lowndes Federalist 471 30.1%
2 William Butler Democratic-Republican
3 Robert Witherspoon Democratic-Republican
4 John Taylor Democratic-Republican 297 unopposed
5 Richard Winn Democratic-Republican
6 Joseph C. Calhoun Democratic-Republican 936 76.3%
6 William Burnsides 290 23.7%
7 Thomas Moore Democratic-Republican
8 Lemuel James Alston Democratic-Republican unopposed

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo