Mapping Early American Elections

10th Congress: South Carolina 1806

South Carolina elected eight Democratic-Republicans to the Tenth Congress.

South Carolina used the district system for electing members to Congress.

In 1807, a special election was held in which Joseph C. Calhoun was elected to replace Levi Casey, who died while in office.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 Robert Marion Democratic-Republican 741 55.6%
1 William Loughton Smith Federalist 581 43.6%
2 William Butler Democratic-Republican 1,704 73.6%
2 Richard B. Screven Federalist 607 26.2%
3 David R. Williams Democratic-Republican 1,088 97.9%
4 John Taylor Democratic-Republican 957 55.3%
4 Henry Dana Ward Federalist 520 30%
4 Miles B. Pinckney Democratic-Republican 247 14.3%
5 Richard Winn Democratic-Republican 1,709 73%
5 Anthony Butler Federalist 631 27%
6 Levi Casey Democratic-Republican 1,301 49.6%
6 John A. Elmore Federalist 654 24.9%
6 Joseph C. Calhoun Democratic-Republican 640 24.4%
7 Thomas Moore Democratic-Republican 2,337 unopposed
8 Lemuel James Alston Democratic-Republican 1,088 39.7%
8 William Hunter Democratic-Republican 830 30.3%
8 Elias Earle Democratic-Republican 821 30%

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo