Mapping Early American Elections

10th Congress: Maryland 1806

Maryland elected three Federalists and six Democratic-Republicans to the Tenth Congress. The dissenting Republicans who ran in districts 5 and 8 were Tertium Quids.

Maryland used a district system for electing members to Congress. Each district elected one member of Congress except District 5, which elected two members.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 John Campbell Federalist 1,713 99.9%
2 Archibald Van Horn Democratic-Republican 1,899 58.4%
2 Leonard Covington Federalist 1,349 41.5%
3 Philip B. Key Federalist 1,935 53.3%
3 Patrick Magruder Democratic-Republican 1,696 46.7%
4 Roger Nelson Democratic-Republican 3,962 96.4%
5 Nicholas Moore Democratic-Republican 6,164 50.8%
5 William MacCreery Democratic-Republican 3,559 29.3%
5 Joshua Barney Republican Faction 2,063 17%
6 John Montgomery Democratic-Republican 1,885 50.2%
6 John Archer Republican Faction 1,829 48.7%
7 Edward Lloyd Democratic-Republican 2,614 81.1%
7 James Brown Republican Faction 607 18.8%
8 Charles Goldsborough Federalist 3,243 68.8%
8 Philip Quinton Republican Faction 1,466 31.1%

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo