Mapping Early American Elections

10th Congress: Delaware 1806

Delaware elected one Federalist to the Tenth Congress.

Delaware used a statewide at-large method for electing members to Congress. Delaware’s election law required that voters select two candidates, with one residing in the voter’s own county, and the other residing in one of the state’s other two counties. The at-large winner was then declared the winner. This map depicts the initial winner.

In 1807, a special election was held in which Federalist Nicholas Van Dyke was elected to replace James M. Broom, who had resigned from office.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
At-large James M. Broom Federalist 2,353 60.5%
At-large Thomas Fitzgerald Democratic-Republican 830 21.3%
At-large Joseph Haslet Democratic-Republican 382 9.8%
At-large Thomas Montgomery Democratic-Republican 323 8.3%

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo