Mapping Early American Elections

8th Congress: Maryland 1803

Maryland elected three Federalists and six Democratic-Republicans to the Eighth Congress.

Following the 1800 Census, Maryland gained one seat in the House of Representatives.

Maryland used a district system for electing members to Congress. Each district elected one member of Congress except District 5, which elected two members.

In 1804, a special election was held in which Roger Nelson was elected to replace Daniel Hiester, who had died.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 John Campbell Federalist 1,733 79.5%
1 William Thomas Democratic-Republican 446 20.5%
2 Walter Bowie Democratic-Republican 2,084 99.5%
3 Thomas Plater Federalist 1,874 51.9%
3 Patrick Magruder Democratic-Republican 1,507 41.7%
3 Richard Wooten Federalist 232 6.4%
4 Daniel Hiester Democratic-Republican 3,571 60%
4 Eli Williams Federalist 2,379 40%
5 Nicholas Moore Democratic-Republican 5,069 53.8%
5 William MacCreery Democratic-Republican 3,610 38.3%
5 George Buchanan Federalist 736 7.8%
6 John Archer Democratic-Republican 3,227 100%
7 Joseph Nicholson Democratic-Republican 2,132 99.6%
8 John Dennis Federalist 1,751 94.9%
8 Other candidates 95 5.2%

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo