Mapping Early American Elections

6th Congress: Maryland 1798

Maryland elected five Federalists and three Democratic-Republicans to the Sixth Congress.

Maryland used a district system for electing members to Congress.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 George Dent Federalist 1,241 54.5%
1 John Campbell Federalist 1,038 45.5%
2 John Chew Thomas Federalist 1,924 61.6%
2 Richard Sprigg, Jr. Democratic-Republican 1,197 38.4%
3 William Craik Federalist 1,436 unopposed
4 George Baer Federalist 2,846 54.9%
4 Daniel Heister Democratic-Republican 2,338 45.1%
5 Samuel Smith Democratic-Republican 2,610 57.7%
5 James Winchester Federalist 1,911 42.3%
6 Gabriel Christie Democratic-Republican 2,512 56.2%
6 Philip Thomas Federalist 1,956 43.8%
7 Joshua Seney Democratic-Republican 2,061 55.6%
7 William Hindman Federalist 1,646 44.4%
8 John Dennis Federalist 460 unopposed

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo