Mapping Early American Elections

5th Congress: Virginia 1797

Virginia elected fifteen Democratic-Republicans and four Federalists to the Fifth Congress.

Virginia used the district system for electing members to Congress. In 1798, Virginia held a special election in which Joseph Eggleston was elected to replace William B. Giles, who resigned from office.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 Daniel Morgan Federalist
2 David Holmes Democratic-Republican 1,350 60.4%
2 John Steele Federalist 615 27.5%
2 John Bowyer Democratic-Republican 270 12.1%
3 James Machir Federalist 1,066 45.4%
3 George Jackson Democratic-Republican 674 28.7%
3 John Mitchell Democratic-Republican 472 20.1%
3 Thomas Wilson Federalist 134 5.7%
4 Abraham Trigg Democratic-Republican unopposed
5 John Trigg Democratic-Republican unopposed
6 Matthew Clay Democratic-Republican unopposed
7 Abraham B. Venable Democratic-Republican
8 Thomas Claiborne Democratic-Republican 761 62.3%
8 Jesse Browne Federalist 461 37.7%
9 William B. Giles Democratic-Republican unopposed
10 Carter B. Harrison Democratic-Republican 261 55.4%
10 Edwin Gray Federalist 210 44.6%
11 Josiah Parker Federalist unopposed
12 Thomas Evans Federalist
13 John Clopton Democratic-Republican
14 Samuel J. Cabell Democratic-Republican unopposed
15 John Dawson Democratic-Republican
16 Anthony New Democratic-Republican 942 70.6%
16 Carter Braxton, Jr. Federalist 391 29.3%
17 Richard Brent Democratic-Republican 414 100%
18 John Nicholas Democratic-Republican
19 Walter Jones Democratic-Republican

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo