Mapping Early American Elections

4th Congress: Virginia 1795

Virginia elected eighteen Democratic-Republicans and one Federalist to the Fourth Congress.

Virginia used a district system for electing members to Congress.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 Robert Rutherford Democratic-Republican
2 Andrew Moore Democratic-Republican unopposed
3 George Jackson Democratic-Republican
4 Francis Preston Democratic-Republican
5 George Hancock Federalist unopposed
6 Isaac Coles Democratic-Republican
7 Abraham B. Venable Democratic-Republican 761 61.1%
7 Thomas Woodson Federalist 247 19.8%
7 Joseph Wyatt Federalist 236 18.9%
8 Thomas Claiborne Democratic-Republican
9 William B. Giles Democratic-Republican unopposed
10 Carter B. Harrison Democratic-Republican unopposed
11 Josiah Parker Democratic-Republican
12 John Page Democratic-Republican unopposed
13 John Clopton Democratic-Republican 432 50.6%
13 Burwell Bassett Federalist 422 49.4%
14 Samuel Jordan Cabell Democratic-Republican unopposed
15 James Madison Democratic-Republican unopposed
16 Anthony New Democratic-Republican
17 Richard Brent Democratic-Republican
18 John Nicholas Democratic-Republican unopposed
19 John Heath Democratic-Republican unopposed

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo