Mapping Early American Elections

19th Congress: South Carolina 1824

South Carolina elected nine Democratic-Republicans to the Nineteenth Congress. Eight of those Democratic-Republicans were part of a faction led by Andrew Jackson, and the other Democratic-Republican was part of a faction led by William Crawford.

The map for this election is incomplete due to the lack of returns in some areas.

South Carolina used a district system for electing members to Congress.

In 1825, a special election was held in which William Drayton was elected to replace Joel R. Poinsett, who had resigned.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 Joel R. Poinsett Jacksonian 1,528 58.2%
1 Samuel Warren 1,099 41.8%
2 James Hamilton, Jr. Jacksonian unopposed
3 Thomas R. Mitchell Jacksonian unopposed
4 Andrew R. Govan Jacksonian
5 Starling Tucker Jacksonian unopposed
6 George MacDuffie Jacksonian unopposed
7 John Wilson Jacksonian 2,551 50.8%
7 Warren R. Davis 2,474 49.2%
8 Joseph Gist Republican Faction 3,692 56.9%
8 James MacCreary Adams/Clay 1,869 28.8%
8 Francis W. Davie Jacksonian 933 14.4%
9 John W. Carter Jacksonian 1,882 46.2%
9 James G. Spann 1,137 27.9%
9 Chapman Levy 1,055 25.9%

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo