Mapping Early American Elections

18th Congress: Indiana 1822

Indiana elected three Democratic-Republicans to the Eighteenth Congress. Two of those Democratic-Republicans were part of a faction led by Andrew Jackson.

Following the 1820 Census, Indiana gained 2 more seats in the House of Representatives.

For the first time, Indiana used a district system for electing members to Congress.

In 1824, a special election was held in which Jacob Call was elected to replace William Prince, who had died.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 William Prince Democratic-Republican 4,156 57.5%
1 Charles Dewey 3,072 42.5%
2 Jonathan Jennings Jacksonian 3,971 60.3%
2 James Scott 2,598 39.5%
3 John Test Jacksonian 3,178 46.5%
3 Samuel C. Vance 2,238 32.7%
3 Ezra Ferris 1,425 20.8%

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo