Mapping Early American Elections

18th Congress: Alabama 1823

Alabama elected three Democratic-Republicans to the Eighteenth Congress. All three of the Democratic-Republicans were part of a faction led by Andrew Jackson.

The map for this election is incomplete due to the lack of returns in several counties.

Following the 1820 Census, Alabama gained 2 more seats in the House of Representatives.

Alabama used a statewide at-large system for electing members to Congress.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 Gabriel Moore Jacksonian unopposed
2 John MacKee Jacksonian 2,135 24.7%
2 Thomas Farrar 1,869 21.6%
2 Jesse W. Garth 1,694 19.6%
2 Marmaduke Williams 1,646 19.1%
2 Sion L. Perry 686 7.9%
2 John S. Fulton 603 7%
3 George W. Owen Jacksonian

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo