Mapping Early American Elections

16th Congress: Virginia 1819

Virginia elected three Federalist and twenty Democratic-Republicans to the Sixteenth Congress.

The map for this election is incomplete due to the lack of returns in a few counties.

Virginia used a district system for electing members to Congress.

In 1820, a special election was held in which Edward B. Jackson was elected to replace James Pindall, who had resigned from office.

In 1820, a special election was held in which Thomas L. Moore was elected to replace George F. Strother, who had died.

In 1820, a special election was held in which William S. Archer was elected to replace James Pleasants, who had resigned after being elected to the United States Senate.

In 1820, a special election was held in which John C. Gray was elected to replace James Johnson, who had resigned from office.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 James Pindall Federalist
2 Thomas Van Swearingen Federalist 810 55.7%
2 Edward Colston Federalist 644 44.3%
3 Jared Williams Democratic-Republican 839 68.3%
3 John Smith Democratic-Republican 389 31.7%
4 William MacCoy Democratic-Republican unopposed
5 John Floyd Democratic-Republican unopposed
6 Alexander Smyth Democratic-Republican unopposed
7 Ballard Smith Democratic-Republican unopposed
8 Charles F. Mercer Federalist unopposed
9 William Lee Ball Democratic-Republican 639 53.4%
9 John P. Hungerford Federalist 558 46.6%
10 George F. Strother Democratic-Republican 581 51.4%
10 John Shackleford Federalist 541 47.8%
11 Philip P. Barbour Democratic-Republican unopposed
12 Robert S. Garnett Democratic-Republican unopposed
13 Severen E. Parker Democratic-Republican
14 William A. Burwell Democratic-Republican unopposed
15 George Tucker Democratic-Republican 1,221 72.2%
15 John Kerr Democratic-Republican 471 27.8%
16 John Randolph Democratic-Republican 681 72.9%
16 Archibald Austin Democratic-Republican 253 27.1%
17 James Pleasants Democratic-Republican unopposed
18 Mark Alexander Democratic-Republican 613 55.6%
18 Theo Field Democratic-Republican 290 26.3%
18 James Wyche Democratic-Republican 199 18.1%
19 James Jones Democratic-Republican
20 James Johnson Democratic-Republican 1,559 unopposed
21 Thomas Newton Democratic-Republican unopposed
22 Hugh Nelson Democratic-Republican unopposed
23 John Tyler Democratic-Republican unopposed

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo