Mapping Early American Elections

16th Congress: Ohio 1818

Ohio elected one Federalist and five Democratic-Republicans to the Sixteenth Congress.

The map for this election is incomplete due to the lack of returns at the town or county level.

Ohio used a district system for electing members to Congress.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 Thomas R. Ross Democratic-Republican 2,810 48.7%
1 John H. Platt 1,669 28.9%
1 Ethan Stone 1,294 22.4%
2 John W. Campbell Democratic-Republican 4,717 93%
2 James Burin 356 7%
3 Henry Brush Democratic-Republican 2,692 41.1%
3 Levi Barber Democratic-Republican 1,987 30.3%
3 Edward W. Tupper 1,873 28.6%
4 Samuel Herrick Democratic-Republican 3,645 52.9%
4 John C. Wright Federalist 3,198 46.4%
5 Philemon Beecher Federalist 4,525 51.6%
5 Joseph Vance Democratic-Republican 4,187 47.7%
6 John Sloane Democratic-Republican 4,208 51.7%
6 Peter Hitchcock Democratic-Republican 3,758 46.2%

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo