Mapping Early American Elections

15th Congress: New Hampshire 1816

New Hampshire elected six Democratic-Republicans to the Fifteenth Congress.

New Hampshire used a statewide at-large system for electing members to Congress.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
At-large Josiah Butler Democratic-Republican 15,569 8.9%
At-large Nathaniel Upham Democratic-Republican 15,562 8.9%
At-large Clifton Claggert Democratic-Republican 15,551 8.9%
At-large Salma Hale Democratic-Republican 15,416 8.8%
At-large John F. Parrott Democratic-Republican 15,231 8.7%
At-large Arthur Livermore Democratic-Republican 15,217 8.7%
At-large William Hale Federalist 13,600 7.8%
At-large Jeremiah Smith Federalist 13,582 7.8%
At-large Jeduthun Wilcox Federalist 13,578 7.8%
At-large Roger Vose Federalist 13,536 7.7%
At-large Bradbury Cilley Federalist 13,493 7.7%
At-large Parker Noyes Federalist 13,477 7.7%

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo