Mapping Early American Elections

13th Congress: Ohio 1812

Ohio elected one Federalist and five Democratic-Republican to the Thirteenth Congress.

The map for this election is incomplete due to the lack of returns at the town or county level.

Following the 1810 Census, Ohio gained five more seats in the House of Representatives.

For the first time, Ohio used a district system for electing members to Congress.

In 1813, a special election was held in which William Creighton was elected to replace Duncan MacArthur, who had resigned.

In 1813, a special election was held in which Reasin Beall was elected to replace John S. Edward, who had died.

In 1814, a special election was held in which David Clendenin was elected to replace Reasin Beall, who had resigned.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 John McLean Democratic-Republican 2,152 71.3%
1 Ethan Stone Federalist 502 16.6%
1 John Bigger Federalist 323 10.7%
2 John Alexander Democratic-Republican 1,266 38.5%
2 John W. Campbell Democratic-Republican 1,173 35.6%
2 Thomas Morris Democratic-Republican 852 25.9%
3 Duncan MacArthur Democratic-Republican 4,344 99.9%
4 James Caldwell Democratic-Republican 2,501 51.5%
4 Bazaleel Wells Federalist 2,090 43.1%
4 James Pritchard Democratic-Republican 263 5.4%
5 James Kilbourn Democratic-Republican 1,006 24.5%
5 Robert J. Slaughter Democratic-Republican 956 23.3%
5 Robert Cloud Democratic-Republican 710 17.3%
5 Joseph Foos Democratic-Republican 543 13.2%
5 William W. Irwin 511 12.5%
5 Joseph H. Crane 363 8.9%
6 John S. Edwards Federalist 1,968 60%
6 Reasin Beall Democratic-Republican 1,258 38.4%

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo