Mapping Early American Elections

12th Congress: New Hampshire 1810

New Hampshire elected three Federalists and two Democratic-Republicans to the Twelfth Congress.

New Hampshire used a statewide at-large method for electing members to Congress. New Hampshire law required a majority to elect for the U.S. House of Representatives. Each voter was allotted five votes for the five seats. The percentages reflect the percent of the total votes cast. The first ballot resulted in only two representatives elected. Therefore, a second ballot was held to elect John A. Harper, Obed Hall, and George Sullivan.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
At-large Josiah Bartlett Democratic-Republican 11,690 10%
At-large Samuel Dinsmore Democratic-Republican 11,672 10%
At-large George Sullivan Federalist 11,632 10%
At-large William Hale Federalist 11,617 10%
At-large David L. Morrill Democratic-Republican 11,616 10%
At-large Obed Hall Democratic-Republican 11,612 10%
At-large Roger Vose Federalist 11,583 10%
At-large Daniel Blaisdell Federalist 11,570 9.9%
At-large John A. Harper Democratic-Republican 11,535 9.9%
At-large James Wilson Federalist 11,366 9.8%

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo