Mapping Early American Elections

10th Congress: Kentucky 1806

Kentucky elected six Democratic-Republicans to the Tenth Congress.

Kentucky used a district system for electing members to Congress.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 Matthew Lyon Democratic-Republican 4,484 57.9%
1 David Walker Democratic-Republican 3,261 42.1%
2 John Boyle Democratic-Republican unopposed
3 John Rowan Democratic-Republican 2,747 55.8%
3 Stephen Ormsby Democratic-Republican 2,173 44.2%
4 Richard M. Johnson Democratic-Republican 2,315 42.5%
4 Thomas Sandford Democratic-Republican 1,643 30.2%
4 James Moore 1,488 27.3%
5 Benjamin Howard Democratic-Republican 4,353 unopposed
6 Joseph Desha Democratic-Republican unopposed

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo