Mapping Early American Elections

9th Congress: Georgia 1804

Georgia elected four Democratic-Republicans to the Ninth Congress.

The map for this election is incomplete due to the lack of returns in some areas.

Georgia used a statewide at-large method for electing members to Congress.

In 1806, a special election was held in which William W. Bibb was elected to replace Thomas Spalding, who had resigned from office.

In 1806, a special election was held in which Dennis Smelt was elected to replace Joseph Bryan, who had resigned from office.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
At-large Peter Early Democratic-Republican 10,269 23.7%
At-large David Meriweather Democratic-Republican 9,674 22.3%
At-large Joseph Bryan Democratic-Republican 9,117 21%
At-large Thomas Spalding Democratic-Republican 4,504 10.4%
At-large Cowles Mead Democratic-Republican 4,465 10.3%
At-large Thomas Carr 2,765 6.4%
At-large Obadiah Jones 2,079 4.8%
At-large Thomas U.P. Charlton Democratic-Republican 517 1.2%

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo