Mapping Early American Elections

9th Congress: Connecticut 1804

Connecticut elected seven Federalists to the Ninth Congress.

Mapping this election is not possible because of the lack of returns at the town or county level.

Connecticut used a statewide at-large method for electing members to Congress.

In 1805, a special election was held in which Federalist Timothy Pitkin, Jr. and Federalist Lewis B. Sturges were elected to replace Calvin Goddard and Roger Griswold, who both had resigned before the 9th Congress convened.

In 1806, a special election was held in which Theodore Dwight was elected to replace John C. Smith, who had resigned from office.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
At-large Calvin Goddard Federalist 9,956 15.1%
At-large Samuel W. Dana Federalist 9,787 14.9%
At-large Jonathan Davenport, Jr. Federalist 9,484 14.4%
At-large Roger Griswold Federalist 9,465 14.4%
At-large Benjamin Talmadge Federalist 8,771 13.3%
At-large John C. Smith Federalist 7,505 11.4%
At-large Jonathan Moseley Federalist 7,126 10.8%
At-large Other candidates 3,811 5.7%

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo