Mapping Early American Elections

8th Congress: Kentucky 1803

Kentucky elected six Democratic-Republicans to the Eighth Congress.

Following the 1800 Census, Kentucky gained four seats in the House of Representatives.

Kentucky used a district system for electing members to Congress.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 Matthew Lyon Democratic-Republican 2,472 51%
1 David Walker Democratic-Republican 2,373 49%
2 John Boyle Democratic-Republican unopposed
3 Matthew Walton Democratic-Republican unopposed
4 Thomas Sandford Democratic-Republican 2,333 43.2%
4 William Henry Democratic-Republican 1,482 27.5%
4 Richard M. Johnson Democratic-Republican 1,345 24.9%
5 John Fowler Democratic-Republican unopposed
6 George M. Bedinger Democratic-Republican 2,539 57.8%
6 Philemon Thomas Democratic-Republican 1,407 32%
6 George Culp Democratic-Republican 448 10.2%

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo