Mapping Early American Elections

7th Congress: Tennessee 1801

Tennessee elected one Democratic-Republican to the Seventh Congress.

Mapping this election is not possible because of the lack of returns at the town or county level.

In November 1801, a special election was held in which William Dickson was elected to replace William C. C. Claiborne, who was appointed Governor of Mississippi Territory.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
At-large William C.C. Claiborne Democratic-Republican 7,977 86.3%
At-large John Rhea Democratic-Republican 1,261 13.6%

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo