Mapping Early American Elections

7th Congress: South Carolina 1800

South Carolina elected four Federalists and two Democratic-Republicans to the Seventh Congress.

The map for this election is incomplete due to the lack of returns at the parish or district level.

South Carolina used the district system for electing members to Congress.

In 1802, a special election was held in which Richard Winn was elected to replace Democratic-Republican Thomas Sumter. Richard Winn ran as a Federalist against Thomas Sumter in 1800 but ran as a Democratic-Republican for his successful reelection in 1803.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 Thomas Lowndes Federalist
2 John Rutledge, Jr. Federalist 774 60.3%
2 Charles J. Colcock Democratic-Republican 510 39.7%
3 Benjamin Huger Federalist 1,038 54.5%
3 Lemuel Benton Democratic-Republican 858 45.1%
4 Thomas Sumter Democratic-Republican 1,259 63.3%
4 Richard Winn Federalist 649 32.6%
5 William Butler Democratic-Republican 1,736 63.9%
5 John Nicholls Federalist 843 31%
5 Charles Goodwyn Federalist 139 5.1%
6 Thomas Moore Federalist

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo