Mapping Early American Elections

4th Congress: South Carolina 1794

South Carolina elected two Federalists and four Democratic-Republicans to the Fourth Congress.

Many returns are missing from this election.

In January 1795, a special election was held in which Wade Hampton was elected to replace John Barnwell, who had been elected but declined to serve. Wade Hampton is included in the table below.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 William Smith Federalist 698 51.7%
1 John Rutledge, Jr. Federalist 504 37.3%
1 Thomas Tucker Democratic-Republican 149 11%
2 Wade Hampton Democratic-Republican unopposed
3 Lemuel Benton Democratic-Republican unopposed
4 Richard Winn Democratic-Republican unopposed
5 Robert G. Harper Federalist 1,389 58.3%
5 John Hunter Democratic-Republican 992 41.7%
6 Samuel Earle Democratic-Republican unopposed

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo