Mapping Early American Elections

4th Congress: Maryland 1794

Maryland elected five Federalists and three Democratic-Republicans to the Fourth Congress.

Maryland used a district system for electing members to Congress.

In October 1796 a special election was held in which Richard Sprigg was elected to replace Gabriel Duvall, who resigned from office. Another special election was held in which William Craik was elected to replace Jeremiah Crabb, who resigned from office.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 George Dent Federalist 1,600 67.6%
1 Philip B. Key Federalist 768 32.4%
2 Gabriel Duvall Democratic-Republican 1,234 69.5%
2 Richard A. Contee Federalist 542 30.5%
3 Jeremiah Crabb Federalist 1,188 unopposed
4 Thomas Sprigg Federalist 1,698 61.4%
4 Roger Nelson Federalist 1,066 38.6%
5 Samuel Smith Democratic-Republican 203 unopposed
6 Gabriel Christie Democratic-Republican 2,282 70.4%
6 Robert Wright Federalist 958 29.6%
7 William Hindman Federalist 1,395 63.8%
7 George Jackson Democratic-Republican 586 26.8%
7 William Whitely Democratic-Republican 204 9.3%
8 William Vans Murray Federalist 2,343 unopposed

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo