Mapping Early American Elections

3rd Congress: North Carolina 1793

North Carolina’s voters elected seven Democratic-Republicans and three Federalists to the Third Congress.

Many of the electoral returns at the county and district levels are incomplete.

North Carolina used a district system for electing members to Congress. After the 1790 Census, North Carolina gained five seats in the House of Representatives.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
1 Joseph MacDowell Democratic-Republican unopposed
2 Matthew Locke Democratic-Republican
3 Joseph Winston Democratic-Republican
4 Alexander Mebane Democratic-Republican 852 44.8%
4 Stephen Moore Federalist 741 39%
4 Ambrose Ramsay Federalist 308 16.2%
5 Nathaniel Macon Democratic-Republican unopposed
6 James Gillespie Democratic-Republican
7 William B. Grove Federalist unopposed
8 William J. Dawson Federalist 1,583 63.8%
8 Stephen Cabarrus Democratic-Republican 896 36.1%
9 Thomas Blount Democratic-Republican
10 Benjamin Williams Federalist

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo