Mapping Early American Elections

2nd Congress: Maryland 1790

Maryland’s elections to the second Congress featured the brief rise of two local parties, the Chesapeake and Potomac parties. Four of the Federalist incumbents sought re-election as part of the Potomac Party, while one incumbent, Joshua Seney, represented the Chesapeake Party. In the second congressional election, voters elected all six candidates from the Chesapeake Party, including Seney.

Maryland used a state-wide at-large system for electing members to Congress. Candidates had to be residents of a specific Congressional district.

Votes tallied for the cities of Baltimore and Annapolis are shown separately, and they are in addition to the votes reported for Baltimore County and Anne Arundel County.

District Candidate Party Vote Percentage Elected
At-large Samuel Sterett Chesapeake 16,420 16.2%
At-large William Pinkney Chesapeake 10,456 10.3%
At-large Joshua Seney Chesapeake 9,887 9.7%
At-large William Vans Murray Chesapeake 9,647 9.5%
At-large Philip Key Chesapeake 9,640 9.5%
At-large Upton Sheredine Chesapeake 9,388 9.2%
At-large Daniel Carroll Potomac 7,532 7.4%
At-large George Gale Potomac 7,464 7.3%
At-large Michael Jenifer Stone Potomac 7,318 7.2%
At-large James Tilghman Potomac 7,286 7.2%
At-large Benjamin Contee Potomac 6,528 6.4%

In most cases, only candidates who received more than 5 percent of the vote in a district are reported. Other candidates are reported as a group, but only if they in aggregate received more than 5 percent of the vote. In addition, percentages for each district may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. The term Dissenting Republican includes various breakaway factions of the Democratic-Republican party.

New Nation Votes Data

Mapping Early American Elections is generously funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Creative Commons License This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

RRCHNM logo NEH logo